Bible & Bible Marking Pens

31 01 2008

1960bicon.jpgThose who know me well, know that I am partial to a good pen. I am especially partial to pens that are ‘fine-tipped, liquidy, and smooth-writing‘ (no clumps of ink at the beginning or end of a word, and definitely no skipped spaces when making a stroke, if ya know what I mean). The irony of it all is that my penmanship is terrible. Probably worse!

Since Tracy has been homeschooling our children, I’ve been trying to learn with them how to write more neatly. Unfortunately, my five year old has much better handwriting than me!

My eagerness to re-learn how to write is largely due to the fact that I’ve been preparing for a long time to get a new bible. Those of you who have used a bible for while know how difficult it is to make the transition. I have been searching for a bible that will last me—Lord willing—the duration of my lifetime. As an early birthday present from Tracy, a good friend recently delivered my brand new Cambridge Edition Wide-Margin NASB. After researching every NASB printed since 1977, I decided on this one, and I’m glad I did. I love it.

image.jpeg

flex.jpg

drape.jpg

spine.jpg

Partly due to my poor penmanship, and more because I do not own a set of good bible marking pens, I have yet to make a mark in the new bible. Now that I have the bible that I’m hoping to use for the rest of my life, it is only fitting (in my mind) that I should splurge on some excellent bible marking pens too. Now, again, those who know me well, know also that I am disenchanted with the ‘Christian’ sub-culture that tries to attach a cross to something (like a pen, or a breath mint) and sell it ‘in Jesus’ name.’ That’s not the kind of bible marking pen I’ve been trying to find.

I’ve been looking for pens with indelible ink (or pigment), extra-fine, soft-tipped, smooth-writing, no bleed, no fade, refillable, that come in multiple colors. Now that’s not too much to ask, is it? Thankfully, its not.

“There are three brands of these archival quality pens. Staedtler Pigment Liner, Prismacolor Fine Line Marker and Sakura’s Pigma Micron. All are high quality pens available with different sized writing nibs with the Prismacolor and Sakura available in different colors as well.”

5-xsdk-n.jpg

308_05_9_10974.jpg

prod_finetip.jpg

I’m placing my order for these pens, and I thought some of you might be in the market too.

You can click here to read more about the bible-marking benefits of using these archival quality pens.

Happy bible marking! jt

Actions

Information

6 responses

31 01 2008
Jeremy

The irony of your convictions of having a “Jesus Saves” or “WWJD” pen is that one of the best ink pens available on the market is indeed a “Cross” brand pen! http://www.cross.com/
Good luck with your markings!

3 03 2009
Alexwebmaster

Hello webmaster
I would like to share with you a link to your site
write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

6 05 2009
Pastor Giles

pastor jt- you wouldnt believe this but i, too, ahare the same sentiments (:) with you regarding both the quest for a new and more durable bible as well as pens. I just ….and i really mean JUST opened up my cambridge box today and beheld my beautiful goatskin nasb. i sat at my desk thinking, “wow, wow, wow”. Now, eventhough i have been prone to write all over my previous bibles for notes and impromtu thought, etc. Looking at this bible and just imagining writing in it will be a challenge. I purchased the wide margin also. So, i was browsing the web and was trying to find someone who has actually used the pens for a review. please give me your feedback and let me know the “size” pen you chose. Congrats on your new bible!!

pdgiles

14 11 2009
BLESS GAMOR

PLEASE I YOU TO SEND ME SOME OF YOUR BIBLES AND PEN,THIS IS MY ADDRESS
BLESS GAMOR
P.O BOX 19 ASHAIMAN NUMBER 7 J.H.S
ASHAIMAN
GHANA WEST AFRICA,00233.

1 04 2010
David@biblemarkingtoolsreviews

You know I have been seeing quite a bit of the the mentioning of pigment pens and are begining to see this is the way to go… I am very glad you decided to pick up an NASB Cambridge edition. That indeed is a VERY nice bible. I have a Thompson Chain Reference NASB which I love especially for word study but one day… I will get a cambridge lol.

2 05 2013
waterbed.com

I like what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work
and coverage! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

Leave a Reply

