Luther on Galatians

9 02 2008

Many bloggers have posted Top-10 lists of favorite books read in 2007.

Instead of throwing out a long list, I was reminded through something that I read today of something I mentioned in a sermon late last year about the best book I read in 2007. I said that Luther’s commentary on Galatians was a God-send into my life when I didn’t even know how much I needed it. Since reading it, I have had a hard time expressing why it was so helpful. Today, I saw that John Bunyan did a great job saying what I felt:

“The God in whose hands are all our days and ways, did cast into my hand one day a book of Martin Luther’s; it was his Comment on Galatians . . . . I found my condition in his experience so largely and profoundly handled, as if his book had been written out of my heart . . . . I do prefer this book of Martin Luther upon the Galatians, excepting the Holy Bible, before all the books that ever I have seen, as most fit for a wounded conscience.”

Taken from To Live Upon God That Is Invisible.

I’m not much for reading books online, but Study Light has done an excellent job of making Luther’s commentary very readable from the screen.

May Christ be yours in fullest measure!

Actions

Information

One response

9 02 2008
Jeremy Whitten

I have exhausted and am still laboring through one of the greatest books I’ve ever been exposed to. It is a must read for anyone who desires a deep understanding of sanctification, holiness, mortification, spritual warfare, and putting on the full armour of God as exposed in Ephesians 6. The name of this great work is THE CHRISTIAN IN COMPLETE ARMOUR by the puritan/anglican (if there is such a thing) devine WILLIAM GURNALL first published in 1655. If you don’t value my opinion of this book, then read what these great men of God have said about this classic:

“Gurnall’s work is peerless and priceless; every line is full of wisdom; every sentence is suggestive. The whole book has been preached over scores of times, and is, in our judgment, the best thought-breeder in all our library…..It is beyond all others a preachers’ book: I should think that more discourses have been suggested by it than any other uninspired volume. I have often resorted to it when my own fire has been burning low, and I have seldom failed to find a glowing coal upon Gurnall’s hearth.” – Charles Spurgeon

“If I might read only one book beside the Bible, I would choose The Christian In Complete Armour” – John Newton

“You will often find in a line and a half some great truth, put so concisely, and yet so fully, that you really marvel how so much thought could be got into so few words…..” – J.C. Ryle

“I will forever bless the day (this book) was placed in my hands’ – David Wilkerson

“I recommend reading this book above all others…..” – Leonard Ravenhill

In laymen’s terms, this book is full of “one-liners”, here’s a select few:
“The soldier is summoned to a life of active duty and so is the Christian”

“Cowards never won heaven. Do not claim that you are begotten of God and have His royal blood running in your veins unless you can prove your lineage by this heroic spirit; to dare to be holy in spite of men and devils.”

A further study of Gurnall’s life reveals a very unique, faithful, and uncompromised servant of God.
I recommend purchasing the modern abridged version available from The Banner Of Truth publishers and ordering from here—-> http://www.monergismbooks.com/The-Christian-In-Complete-Armour-3-Volume-Set-Paperback-p-17137.html

I hope this will encourage and dare anyone to dive into this classic!
-Jeremy Whitten

Leave a Reply

